Week 12: Another Great Week!

I ate a fish eye this week! It was actually not terrible but the gag-me factor was way high thus negating the flavor value. It was in this fish soup we were eating in which the sister who made it literally took a whole fish, cut it in 6 parts, and every bowl got a part. I was lucky enough to get the head! And when I poked it with my spoon and the eye popped out and then everyone at the table told me that was the best part. “Muy rico!!” [“Very rich!”] they kept saying…. Haha yah super rico….

MIRACLE OF THE WEEK: Yesterday, being the last day of the week, was our last day to reach our goals! And we still had new investigators to find, which was daunting because this weekend, being the end of the month, was a huge fiesta, everyone was out partying. Despite the bleak outlook, somehow we found a FAMILY! We knocked on their door which is usually like an awkward, open-the-door-just-a-crack-and-tell-them-we’re-busy-type experience, but they immediately invited us in and were asking us all sorts of questions about how they can be stronger as a family. The spirit was so strong and they asked us to come back as soon as possible! I don’t know how we found them, but based on our first conversation with them I can see the hand of the Lord having prepared them to learn!

It’s so great to find families because families really are the best place to put the gospel into practice. It’s something I have thought a lot about because I talk to families about families every day, and one thought that really fuels me with a desire to teach with greater power on this subject is something President Eyring said about why we even have families… he said that Jesus used a child in His mortal ministry as an example for the people of the pure love they must and could have to be like Him, and that He has offered us the family as an example of the ideal setting in which we can learn how to love as He loves. That is because the greatest joys and the greatest sorrows we experience are in family relationships! The joys come from putting the welfare of others before our own– That is what love is! And the sorrow comes primarily fromn selfishness, which is the absence of love.

Here in Piura we are combatting the exact same problems as anywhere else. Someone told me that the glamour of a foreign mission call would lose its sheen the moment I got off the plane…. and I think this is what they meant! The problems are all the same and the solutions are too! Families will always be happiest when forged around the teachings of Jesus and the Prophets. Every other way simply will not bring the desired results.

I’m doing great here! I’m not perfect, but I know God is willing to accept my sincere efforts!

Hermana Cardon


If you’d like to receive email updates, click the “Follow” button in the sidebar!
Please also feel free to share Hermana Cardon’s blog with your friends and family!

Leave a Reply

